What Would You Rather Do?

As your Go Au Pair Local Area Representative, I am always looking for fun and different ideas for social and cultural events. I would love some feedback from my audience, especially from Au Pairs and Host Families. I’d like to know what fun events you have been to or heard of and what events are ones you would rather skip altogether. This will help me to plan fun and stimulating events that my cluster will want to join! Thanks in advance for your help, suggestions, and advice!

goAUPAIR logo for ads

We already have a plan for June: we are planning a sweet picnic by the bay and some carousel rides on one of the oldest operating wooden carousels still in operation. I may skip packing the picnic, though, because the Blount Shack has delicious clam chowder and clam cakes, and I haven’t had any yet this season. The time has come for seafood and hobby horses!

But, next month, I haven’t decided yet and I need your help! What would you rather do? Here are the two options I came up with for July, but I am open to suggestions.

First, we could go on a whale watch off the coast of Narragansett, in search of the beautiful creatures who share our planet. I have been on a whale watch, about 27 years ago and it was the most magnificent experience when our ship was literally right next to a giant right whale (maybe, not sure of the kind really, but it was huge and beautiful!). The only negative I could see in planning an event like this would be weather conditions being unfavorable, the cost being a little steep for some, or seasickness being a problem.

Our second choice is to go to an old-fashioned drive-in movie, where you hook the speaker onto your car window and watch the movie from the comfort of your car, or even put a blanket or the hood, roof or trunk, and enjoy the show. We would go to the Rustic Drive-in in North Smithfield, RI, which wouldn’t be too far if our friends from Boston wanted to come for the experience. Admission is per car load, so the cost is very reasonable. Of course, there is a concession stand where you can get popcorn and soda or any number of other theatre snack-foods. If the weather is bad, you can keep the windows up and tune your radio to get the movie right through your car speakers! I have many fond childhood memories of going to the drive-in with my family, sitting on the roof watching one movie while my brother sat on the hood watching the one behind us!

If you really need a third choice, July is a great month for a barbecue and cook-out! It would be a great all-American experience to join a large family or group of friends at a 4th of July or just any July weekend barbecue. There is no better place to taste the many flavors of seasonal New England than during the summer at a cook-out. Typically, people bring a dish to share while the hosts provide the meat for grilling or barbecuing. There is usually a great variety of foods to try, as well as summer sports and games going on where one could join in and try something new. I know my family has great cook-outs where we have croquet tournaments that would challenge any sporting event.

So what should it be? Would you have more fun sailing the seas in search of the great beast, kicking back and relaxing with some popcorn and a good chick flick, or throwing horseshoes and spitting watermelon seeds down on Hoot Owl Farm? You tell me and I will be happy to plan it. I  look forward to all your comments and suggestions, so message me at 401.309.1925 or jlowell@goaupair.com.

Don’t forget to visit Go Au Pair’s Providence page at http://www.goaupair.com/Providence

picnic spread rustic drive in whale watching

2 thoughts on “What Would You Rather Do?

Leave a Reply

